S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do all of the CCMs blow in the same place?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2021, 12:13 AM
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Do all of the CCMs blow in the same place?

Hello
Was hoping for some feedback. Ive had 3 jaguar Stypes (2005-2008 model)
they are my absolute favorite body style cars Ive ever been able to find.
My first 2 had the exact same problems, they had about 100,000-120000 miles on them so a bit more wear and tear.
Both cars had the DDCV fail and the CCM blow.
Both cars also had misfires. I was a mechanic for a few years so its never been a problem, easy fix.

I got another stype a few months ago. It was a great find, i couldn't pass it up, 28000 miles and it looked like it was brand new. I sold my other car and was going to make it my daily driver.
Everything was great, drove it over the summer and had ice cold AC then boom, the first time I put it on heat, it wouldnt go back to AC which is a major major problem in Texas, we have 110 day summers. One side blows ice cold, standard DCCV motor/CCM failure i thought.

No problem I figured... Its either the DDCV or the CCM (ive had to do this atleast 3 times owning stypes) and so I replaced the DDCV and bought a used CCM on ebay.
Had the DCCV fixed first, no fix. Scalding hot heat. I was bummed but the CCM was on the way so no stress.
Then the CCM came in, popped it in and no fix. I was perplexed and quite frankly depressed. All the motors appear to be moving and i took out a good chunk of the dash but not all of it to check the right side. Again the driver side blows ice cold so I knew it wasnt just a compressor issue.

I opened up the old CCM and saw there was clearly a burnt trace , a tiny charged area and the copper wire clearly split...
I figured what the hell, worth a check and opened up the new CCM... Exact same area with a copper wire split,,,