S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does this even sound like a DCCV problem?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2017, 05:45 PM
Veteran Member
Received 140 Likes on 100 Posts
Default Does this even sound like a DCCV problem?

About 5 years ago I had the DCCV replaced as it had all of a sudden sprung a leak and damaged the CCC unit- so I have some experience with the problem The radiator was replaced 4 years ago. I only drive about 8,000 miles a year.

I was looking at my car engine and noticed a very small amount of coolant the front bolt of the passenger side sway bar bushing. It is naturally a small well in that area. Seemed to be less than a teaspoon.. That is directly below the DCCV. I felt the underneath, as best as I could and felt a touch of liquid on one of the front 3 tubes/pipes (it appeared to be between the hose connection and the end of the piping /tubing of the DCCV) that point to the passenger side. If I have lost any coolant- it does not show in the system or reservoir. I have, for the last 6 months had, when the car was parked in my garage after driving, just the faintest whiff of coolant, but it is so very slight it is hard to distinguish from that of a hot engine and no apparent coolant loss and I really only smell it through the grill.

Could I be getting a false positive and just a seam leak from the radiator (which would explain the smell)? Would a radiator leak blow over to the DCCV and then down to the sway bar bushing bolt. The is zero indication of any coolant on the under shields or ever on the ground. If they leak where do they leak from- the hoses and connections seem in fine shape. When the DCCV does leak, where does it leak from normally- what gives up the ghost and allows the leak?

When mine went out before, I had a very clear leak that was a stream of fluid coming to the ground and seemed to be leaking from the top as I remember.

Thanks much for any help and advice.