Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Interior Wood

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 02:01 PM
Veteran Member
Received 140 Likes on 100 Posts
Default Interior Wood

I have a 2005 S-Type. I have the semi-standard burl walnut wwod trim on the interior. I was curious as to where I could find replacement pieces other than the overly expensive dealer and perhaps other wood trim pieces for those things not wood from the factory.

I developed, for reasons unknown, a hairline fracture on my center console wood trim and why it may not bother anyone but me, that is enough. Is there something that causes such a thing, as I am a city driver and am very careful and clean with the interior.

Thanks

Tom in Dallas

Old 11-08-2010, 02:11 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4,351 Likes on 2,848 Posts

Find a local woodworking club. The guys who have been hobby woodworkers for decades can do amazing repairs for a fraction of what you'll pay a dealer or wood trim retailer for a new, nonmatching trim panel. You'll never see that crack again and they will back the trim piece with epoxy or something similar so it will be stronger than new and never crack again. Since you apparently live in Dallas, google "Dallas woodworking clubs" and call around. You'll find an expert with minimal effort, and they'll fix you up better than new....

The following users liked this post:
jeffn (05-24-2016)
Old 11-08-2010, 02:24 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,702 Likes on 1,211 Posts

Jon has great advise. If there is nothing locally for you Tom, try http://www.maderaconcepts.com/ several members have used this company with excellent reviews!

Old 11-08-2010, 02:42 PM
Veteran Member
Default Why

Is this a common problem? Why would it crack.? There is a shiny surface on top, so it is not like I can moisturize the wood and I have not hit it with anything or done anything except to keep it clean and shiny.

Old 11-08-2010, 06:31 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts