Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just acquired an S-type 4.2 VDP, 2005 m.y. - Issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2013, 04:13 PM
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Just acquired an S-type 4.2 VDP, 2005 m.y. - Issues

Hello, Jaguar Forums members:

I have been browsing this forum for over six months, reading extensively on the (modern) S-type and X350 XJ. Three weeks ago I acquired a Jaguar S-type 4.2 VDP, 2005 m.y., Radiance red color. I picked it up from my brother who has kept if for the past 2 years 4 months since our father died (he was the original owner). This is my first Jaguar, and I love it! While I was driving it from Oregon to Utah via Seattle, I became a Jaguar believer. I get it. There is just nothing else quite like a Jag.

*I posted the preceding paragraph in the new member section on February 20th.* Now for the follow-up.

The car has 72k miles on it, and in the three weeks and almost 2,000 miles I've had it, there have been some issues. Love the car, but --. Here is the current list of "buts":

1. PROBLEM: Today the climate control is stuck on hot. I live in Utah and so the heat would be on (outside temperatures are about 20-30F). I noticed the car getting too warm in the cabin on the way to work so I decreased the temperature setting on the automatic climate control to the "LO" setting, which, when engaged, turns the A/C on and the blower goes to high speed. I didn't need the A/C so I manually turned it off on the touch screen. Hot air was still blowing out of the vents. I have set the ClimCont to LO before and had nice cool outside air coming in. This time the air remained hot after a minute or two (plenty of time to cool things down). I turned the A/C on and the vent air temperature decreased but was still warm.