S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Misfire after Fuel inject connector unplugged

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2022 | 10:27 AM
|
Default Misfire after Fuel inject connector unplugged

Please bear with me, a bit of a long story. This is related to a 2008 S-Type 3.0 with 175k miles. I am a shade tree mechanic, and this car belongs to an 82 year old friend/neighbor. He had a radiator hose blow a couple weeks ago. Drove home several miles, car got hot but according to him did not overheat. I looked at it the next day, topped off with some water to identify leak location. It started and idled fine (no coolant in the oil and no oil in the coolant) but never put it in gear and never drove it, identified blown hose and another hose with pink crusty crap at the joints. Ordered and replaced both. One had 3 locations, the reservoir, the heater core and the water pump (probably irrelevant). The other hose was the one with the metal flange that connects to the intake manifold and the other end to the upper radiator hose. This is where the problems arise. In order to remove the flange the electrical connector to the #1 fuel injector needed to be unplugged to access one of the bolts. The connector was held in place by silicone as the retaining clip was broken. I found it like that and it had been like that for at least 1.5 or 2 years as the car had not been in a shop for that long. My neighbor moved to Florida from California about a year ago and the car had been running fine with this connector held in place with a dab of silicone. I unplugged the connector, replaced the flange, and plugged the connector back in. First, I thought zip ties may be better than silicone. Car idled ok for a minute, I started to back out of garage to take for a test drive to get it up to temp, within a minute got reduced performance message, was running rough and got codes for cylinder 1 and 6 misfire. :-(