S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to S-type: What common issues exist?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2011 | 02:24 PM
|
Default New to S-type: What common issues exist?

Hello All!

I a current x-type owner, and may be moving over to an S-type here shortly. I am looking at a 2005 3.0L S-type with 67K miles. It was a corporate lease up until 13K miles and sold as a certified pre owned vehicle on a lease up until now. It is immaculate on the exterior and interior, with all components seemingly working. I was curious #1: What the typical preventative main.. cost is on the s-type and #2: what common isses occur on the S-type with their "typical" corresponsing price to fix. I own an 02 x-type and have begun to have reliability issues. How reliable is the S-type etc???? I greatly appreciate ALL insight as I am new to the s-type. Thanks again!!!

The asking price was 11.9K ....the car dealer would sell for around 11.4K as he just repaired an air compressor and dryer....

Old 08-12-2011 | 03:27 PM

Here's something to look at, https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...es-here-40522/

Check out the FAQ's for some ideas https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...ype-faq-41364/

Good to hear the AC has been done, that crops up regularly, there was an upgrade to the compressor so hopefully it got that.

I'm sure Jon had another thread listing common faults, but I can't put my finger on it for the minute.

Take a look at info on IMT o rings, transmission fluid change, transmission electrical sleeve etc.

Old 08-12-2011 | 08:12 PM
|

Thank you! How does the S-type do in the snow? I live in southwest ohio, and we do get quite a good amount of snow in the winter, and I live in an area with lots of hills. I have only driven AWD, but am VERY conservative in the snow and do NOT go fast etc. Would snow tires help, or should i stick with an x-type????