S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New STR

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2016, 11:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New STR

I have had for about a week a new to me 2003 STR. Complete with navigation and premium audio.
I have lots of questions but some are more pressing than others.

I am searching the forums, but if you can point me to one I haven't seen yet it would be much appreciated.

I am new to Jaguars, this is my first one. I am not very good mechanically, but some things I may be able to manage with limited time and very limited tools.

So, the check engine light is on, I haven't had the codes pulled. Is there a way I can have the car show me the codes. I had a jeep that i could flip the key a few times and it would show me the codes. Is that possible or do i need a reader to hook into OBDII?

Second, Today I was dinking around with the headlights that are pointing at the ground and noticed I smelled gas. I would assume thats not normal, but again I am new to Jags.

When I had the key in accessory i heard a whining noise coming from what seemed to be under and towards the front of the supercharger. Not sure whats up.

I have noticed some oil or fluid just under and around the supercharger. Normal? not normal? according to the person I bought it from he had it replaced recently. I am still trying to contact that shop and track down those records.

Also he said the check engine light comes on because he installed an after market intake. Am i looking at a mass air flow sensor issue?

I will continue to search the forums, but I am new to all this.

I love the car, its fast, fun and sexy doin it. I did try my hand at a good 0-60 test last night and clocked in at 11.90s. Terrible for this car im sure.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you so much in advance.

Old 04-17-2016, 11:50 AM
Received 181 Likes on 138 Posts