Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie With 2005 Jaguar V8 4.2 Water Pump & Thermostat Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2011, 11:21 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie With 2005 Jaguar V8 4.2 Water Pump & Thermostat Question

Hello All,

I am a newbie and I have a question. First, please forgive me if this has been asked and answered in some other place here. I looked around first, but I didn't see my exact situation.

Car Details:
2005 Jaguar S Type V8 4.2

Problem:
The car is leaking coolant from some place. At first, my engine coolant low message came on and I was experiencing a maple syrup like smell inside and outside of the car. I purchased the right type of coolant (orange stuff) and put more in the coolant area. At that point, I couldn't see a leak. Then, a few days later, I was driving on the highway and the engine coolant low light came back on. I pulled over and put more fluid into the tank. Upon arriving home, I removed the cover from the engine as I was determined to find the leak I felt must be there. I took the engine cover off and I could see coolant splatter around the front of the engine area(?) where the hose from the coolant tank goes into the engine area. The coolant also had leaked further down between the back of the radiator and the front of the engine area.

The problem is that I can't tell EXACTLY where the leak is coming from. I think it could be a hose. However, I would like to replace the hoses, the thermostat and the water pump just because I am not sure. I have found a place to get the parts and I have ordered all of the hoses and parts.

Now I just need to know how to replace the thermostat and the water pump.

If anyone could offer some guidance, well a lot of guidance, I would appreciate it. I'm new here, I'm a woman and I follow directions well, so please be kind.

Thank you in advance!

Old 10-03-2011, 11:14 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,359 Likes on 2,850 Posts