Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie looking to buy V8 S type

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2011, 02:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking to buy V8 S type

Howdy fellas, newbie here.
I'm looking to buy my first Jag, and I am leaning to the '02 and '03 models. This will be a highway car,and wil not see rain or snow.
I am looking at a couple cars, and was hoping you folks could tell me what to look for, and what issues are waiting down the road..
Side note: as a kid my uncle had an XKE convertible, and I have loved Jaguars ever since.
I am hoping since the Stype shares alot with the Lincoln LS, that it will be more reliable that the XJ series.
Selling my Towncar this spring to help pay for the Jag.
Thank you, C

Old 03-02-2011, 02:29 PM

Well, I don't know what to tell you to look for...but I can assure you that you will LOVE it! I have had mine for less than a week. I now look forward to my commute even in traffic! I have never driven a car than handles like this! I need to put my radar detector in it before I bring home a present that I do not need!

Old 03-02-2011, 03:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 431 Likes on 389 Posts

Hi Chris, and welcome to the "S" forum. Though I'm partial to the S-Type R (STR) I'd advize you to pick one of these (03 through 08) beasts up and be done with it. If you're not into 400 supercharged horses then I'd strongly advize you to go for an 03-up 4.2. They have the revized and venerable 4.2 (300 hp @ 310 lb/ft trq.) and the much desirable 6 speed ZF trans (same as STR).

Old 03-02-2011, 08:23 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,642 Likes on 1,068 Posts

Welcome to the forum, Chris.

I think the tie-up between S-type and Lincoln LS precipitates much goodness with respect to replacement-parts-costs, but reliability dividends are dubious, at best.
Which is not to say they are not reliable, only that I don't believe the fact that they share parts with the LS makes them moreso than other Jag models.