S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear Lower Control Arm bushes

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2013, 07:06 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rear Lower Control Arm bushes

Hi, I have just joined the forum and to be quite honest, I am a real newbie when it comes to cars in general.

However, on to business: my rear lower control arms on my 99 S-Type v8 4.0 have rubber bushes which have perished slightly.

The arms themselves are in good working order so I spoke to Jaguar Stratstone here in Edinburgh about replacing the bushes. They tell me that they don't offer this service and in fact, the left is on back order with Jaguar (with no expected delivery dates). Of course, they want £420 each plus £90 per side labour to fit them.

I looked on eBay and there are poly bushes available at a very reasonable £95 each but after calling around a few garages here (and in Fife) no one seems to be able to do the work needed.

My understanding is that an industrial press with a rating of 15 to 20 tonnes is needed but when I mention this they all seem to think I am talking crazy.

Does anyone know any good garages in my area that are up to the task?

Old 07-12-2013, 07:15 AM
GGG
Received 16,866 Likes on 12,186 Posts

I've moved your question from XK8/XKR section to S-Type section. Members here with the same model as you will be able to help.

I'll just add that you have a 1999 S-Type as you haven't put this detail in your Signature.

Graham

Old 07-17-2013, 09:44 PM
Veteran Member
Received 587 Likes on 393 Posts

I can't help you with a shop to chose in getting your lower bushing replaced, but I can help regarding what bushings to have installed.