Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

S type v8 cold start /

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2020, 04:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy S type v8 cold start /

Good day to all my fellow forum members,

So, I'm very new to this whole vehicle maintenance thing & my understanding of it is all limited so I'm going to lay out my questions and hopefully some JAGUAR Genius could shed some light -

(1) my car probably does need a service - going to get to that soon, but this is my main issue. Sometimes the car doesn't start the first time ; this happens when the car is cold from an overnight park ;; after cranking the second or third time it only starts what could be the reason for this? It happens only sometimes - and it could be owed to the fact that perhaps the fuel level was low? & my car parks at an angle too so perhaps that has something todo with it - I'm not entirely sure ?

(2) the tyre also goes down on the right side in front - and I know that this gives the error of "PARKING BREAK FAIL" which I know has todo with the air pressure because after pumping that said wheel again the error disappears, I was thinking that when starting the car the error of PARKING BREAK FAILED perhaps the sensors being triggered drains the battery so it doesn't have enough energy to start? or does this sound like hogwash??

The car has power to move seats, lights, radio etc. and had the battery changed in the start of this year. You guys should also probably note that the cars engine is perfect and has no issues with power delivery or idling. there are also no error messages on the trip computer.

Should I just accept that the reason it only starts on the second crank could just be low fuel levels // parking at an incline when I have the low fuel level???

Please advise if you guys know whats up?

Old 08-17-2020, 08:05 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,538 Likes on 3,947 Posts

It would help to know more car details, like the year & miles (it has to be 2002.5MY+ to have the EPB).