S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

s type valve cover gasket

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 07:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default s type valve cover gasket

Ive got a 2002 s type 3.0. Every so often when I drive it after its sat a few days you smell oil burning especially if the heat is on. It appears to me and to my mechanic that the passengers side valve cover gasket is leakig and oil is dripping on the manifold. My question is what parts do i need to order to replace the valve gaskets other than the valve gaskets themselves and upper and lower intake gaskets? also while the intake is off i was going to replace the spark plugs. what kind is recommended for best performance? and is there anything else that i should go ahead and have done while it is apart. Im new to the jaguar world so i dont know too much about the technicals of them. Any input would be appreciated! The car has 80,000miles on it. Also occasionaly when you "get on it" it seems to slip when shifting from like 2nd gear to 3rd i believe. Its not consistent and its never thrown any codes except "transmission fault" only one time in the last year. It seems like its gonna shift then just revs up, if you let off the gas it shifts. It will do it several times then if you park the car and get back in it may not do it for 2 weeks. any suggestions? i was going to take it to the dealer and have the tranny fluid and filter changed bc i dont know if its ever been done since i bought the car w 70k on it and with 80k it wont hurt. I figured it would be a good place to start. But any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated. Im hoping its not the transmission itself taking a sh*t, but it seems to maybe be a sensor or pressure issue seeing as its not a consistent problem? anyway enough questions for now, i will shut up and let you guys hopefully help me out.

Thanks in advance!!
S

Old 01-12-2012, 08:32 PM
Veteran Member