S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Solenoid Short, CPM, Faults

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2019, 12:24 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Angry Solenoid Short, CPM, Faults

Hi, I'm still new to my Jaguar and noticed it needed some immediate attention to one of the two oil control VVT solenoids and so I parked the vehicle and ordered one.

I noticed on the car that it was disconnected and expected an easy fix so waited even though the car seemed to drive fine. The day it showed up I had a later appointment and so was very disappointed when I received one for another vehicle.

I went to the car and decided I needed to go to this interview but didn't want to drive it if there was an error code so messed around with it and shorted something.

I'm getting the parking break fault, Gearbox fault and a few other codes and it won't turn over at all now.

I'm very frustrated and upset at my rash decision. Can someone offer guidance on rebuilding my ECM, where to find it and who to go to for a rebuild?

I'm not 100% done checking out the fuses and relays under the hood because of a new latch problem that happened while moving the airbox and cleaning.

When I get my solenoid I'll get under there and see if maybe I just popped something but I'm under the impression this will indeed fry something in the computer. Can anyone attest to that?

Last edited by DrJagerCola; 12-12-2019 at 12:47 AM.
Old 12-12-2019, 01:15 AM
Veteran Member
Received 595 Likes on 472 Posts

depending what you actually shorted . it may not be the ECM outputs that you fry'ed .
it would be worth checking every fuse , eng bay / boot/trunk and dash fuses too.
also do a hard reboot with the battery terminals .
by disconnecting the battery earth cable from the terminal . after a few seconds touch the body earth strap to the positive terminal for a few seconds .

if it is the ECM it should not be un-reparable . there are many places to repair them .