US Southern Midwest AR LA MS KY TN AL

Greetings from Northcentral Arkansas

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2021, 11:18 AM
Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Greetings from Northcentral Arkansas

Howdy guys & gals,

I'm a retired psychology professor from the University of Maryland. Teaching was an enjoyable career and occasionally missed.

A long time Jaguar fan, I'm hoping this XK8 4.0 will present fewer problems than my earlier E-Types. The car has been in storage for many years and only has 51,000 miles on it. Tires are on order and hoses are next. I read that aftermarket hoses are thicker than OEM, so if anyone has a source web link handy for such, please send that along.

Home is in the Ozark Mountains, Mountain Home, Arkansas to be specific. Life here is rural, laid back, clean water & air, and a grand place for outdoor sports of all kinds. I like hiking, fishing, and canoeing on the Buffalo River.

Any tips on getting this otherwise fine automobile road worthy after decades of storage will find open ears.

George

'63 E-Type drophead
'64 E-Type drophead
'67 E-Type 2+2

The following 2 users liked this post by professor2:
Green Margot (01-28-2022), That Other 1999 XK8 CV Guy (06-24-2024)
Old 01-25-2022, 05:21 AM
Banned
Received 75 Likes on 62 Posts

Hey George,
How are things going with your XK8? I'm here just across the river in North Mississippi. I just purchased my first Jag this month and have enjoyed driving it daily on my commute to work. Not very many members in this region, so things tend to be a little quiet here.

Danny

The following 2 users liked this post by user 7508230:
Green Margot (01-28-2022), professor2 (01-26-2022)
Old 01-25-2022, 10:21 AM
Default XK8

Hi Danny,