Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bumper Lights turn on at night and drains battery

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2010 | 04:36 AM
|
Default Bumper Lights turn on at night and drains battery

newbie here,

I have a problem with the bumper lights, whenever the car is in use it operates good however when you finish for the day at night for some reason (when the car is not in use and all switches tunred off) the bumper lights turn on and completely drain out the battery. I had changed the battery because the old had died completely after recharging it many times. The concern/question is has anybody or does anybody know why these lights turn on and how? The keyfob has a light switch on it but I don't think it is that as it hadn't been pressed. Could it be a case of wiring/switching/connector? Do I just need to disconnect the bulbs or remove fuse? Please help

Old 05-28-2010 | 05:27 AM

I know you dont think its the keyfob but just check. I often press the button by mistake on mine when I am locking the house front door at night. I dont realise till I get to bed and see lights shining through the windows. Not really sure about what use the feature is in the first place....

Old 05-28-2010 | 09:48 AM

Push in the light switch...it pulls out two stops and one of them is for those lights.

Old 05-28-2010 | 02:56 PM
Veteran member

xtype2000, give me a little bit more info and I am sure we can get this solved for you. First, what year is your X-Type? Based on the name, I would have to assume 2000, but X-Types were not released back then that I am aware of. Different years have slight tweaks to the wiring. Also, do you have the trailer wiring package or not? Finally, do you have daytime running lights, automatic headlights or just the basic headlights? There are slight differences between these three styles and it can help me eliminate possibilities.

Old 05-30-2010 | 07:17 PM
|