X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Grounded...!for who knows how long?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2010, 02:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Grounded...!for who knows how long?

i recently tried to fix the melted pigtail problem on my X by doing the dual spade connector deal.I still could not get it to work..I.m sure it's the ground.I am putting in a set of hid's soon ,but of course they wont work with no ground..Yes im a noob,but was wondering how do i run a new ground wire..Do i just find wire of appropriate guage and go from the ground point on back of bulb and connect it to the frame?..and where might i connect it to the frame..I have no low beams at night and my hid's arnet here from china yet lol.that being said dont want the boy's in blue pulling me over.

Old 09-05-2010, 06:32 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,894 Likes on 3,201 Posts

Irish, get yourself a piece of wire (16 gauge) and put the spade connector on one end and a ring lug on the other. If you look under the headlight assembly, there should be a bolt or two there that will make for a good ground at the moment. Granted, if your front turn signals are working, then the ground wire from the headlight assembly is good. Which would then lead me to believe you have a problem between the headlight bulb and the common ground point inside the headlight assembly.

If you need me to help you out with anything more, let me know.

Old 09-06-2010, 11:51 AM

I believe the turn signals are working..can i still run a new ground the way you stated...Now im lost.Would ya explain that last bit in slow irish english lol

Old 09-06-2010, 03:52 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,894 Likes on 3,201 Posts