X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

headlight low beam connector 2003 x type diesel

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2013, 09:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy headlight low beam connector 2003 x type diesel

This is my first time on the forum and i hope this makes sence to you. The connector to the low beam bulb on the drivers side has burnt out. The jaguar dealer said the connector is part of the headlamp unit and it cost well over £200 to replace it. I have looked on ebay to find a new connector but they all have got just a single wire to the connector were mine has 2 wires to it. Does anybody know if i can use the single wire connector and what wires go where? The bulb is a H1 with a single connector, thanks to anyone who can help me,
Regards, Steve

Old 01-31-2013, 03:23 AM
Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts

The block has 2 wires on it, one yellow and one brown, I cannot remember which are which but obviously one is +ve and the other -ve.
When I fitted my HID's I cut off the block and made up spade connections to these wires.
If you inspect the block or use a multimeter to find which wires are which you can make up your own connections for a few pence.

The following users liked this post:
manyama (01-31-2013)
Old 01-31-2013, 07:35 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,910 Likes on 3,212 Posts

manyama, since you have halogen bulbs, it doesn't matter which wire you put to which terminal on the bulb. So, pick up 2 of the single connectors and call it good.

Welcome to the forums. You will find that there is lots of useful information here. So, stick around, grab a cup of joe, do some reading and learn a lot about your kitty. BUt, we do ask that you stop by the "New Member" section and introduce yourself. There you can see who the movers and shakers are around here. You will also find that we are a friendly bunch here and we like to get to know one another.

manyama (01-31-2013)
Old 01-31-2013, 12:33 PM

Originally Posted by faltwen