X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me buy a high mileage "beater" X-Type or talk me out of it

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2019, 11:33 PM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Help me buy a high mileage "beater" X-Type or talk me out of it

Hello all, recent member of the Jaguar world and I'm very much enamored of my 2017 F-Type. So enamored that I want a beater to drive in the winter, to work, rather than this beautiful vehicle, which has less than 3,000 total miles on it.

As I started looking at beaters (price range $1500-$3500) I started seeing mid 2000 X-Types pop up. Many of the cars are AWD, clean, and the sellers claim they run well. Some have miles in the low 100s.

Am I crazy to consider one of these for my beater?

I'm not good at working on cars. And I need something reasonably reliable in which to get to work.

I can't quite resist the idea of one of these X-Types.

Advice on how to buy one suggested... I'll also accept advice NOT to buy one, if that's better.

Thank you.

The following users liked this post:
Spikepaga (09-15-2019)
Old 09-15-2019, 01:50 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Do not.

Unless you are willing to pay $$$$$$ in parts and labor for repairs (and there will be lots of).

And good luck.

a quick example :
Fan Control module, fails on most cars, original cost around $600 and maybe $150 for labor to replace,

Old 09-15-2019, 06:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im in the exact same boat. New ftype r owner looking for a beater/commuter and checking x-types. Saw a 2001 , 100k with 5-speed manual. Looks clean.

Old 09-15-2019, 07:25 AM
Veteran Member
Received 3,094 Likes on 1,724 Posts

Check the sills carefully for rot, they are notorious.
Transfer boxes can fail on 4wd drive ones and that is not a cheap fix.
Everything else is just mechanical/electrical same as any other car really.
The clutch is quite heavy on the manual which is why I am going to change mine for an auto.