Sponsored by:

LED Vanity Lights

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2010, 01:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LED Vanity Lights

I just ordered these lights off of V-Leds.com
http://www.v-leds.com/Interior-LED/V...viewsTabAnchor

I was trying to find some nice white lights to replace the ugly yellow stock lights. The vanity lights that i ordered are shorter and smoothed off at the end v.s. our stock vanity's which have the tip that fits into the clips. I took out 1 stock bulb, and tried to fit the new one in. Nothing happened.. Tried it again..."Flash" all the interior lights went out, the dome lights, foot lights...Checked this A.M and the fuse was blown, I think I'm going to pick up a bunch of fuses and give it another shot, but i have no experience with electrical lighting/wiring. Any suggestions? I also bought 2 new dome lights and map lights ( http://www.v-leds.com/Exterior-LED/C...-p6985865.html) but haven't put them in, kind of nervous now. I'm thinking the car might not be able to support the frequency.ANY SUGGESTIONS. HAS ANYONE SUCCESSFULLY CHANGED THE INTERIOR LEDS? Thanks!

D

Old 07-24-2010, 04:13 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,887 Likes on 3,194 Posts

DMS, if you installed a set of lights and as you were installing them it blew the fuse, that is telling me you have 1 of 2 problems:

1) the bulb you bought is bad and shorted itself to ground, or
2) the bulb base is not tight and as you pushed the bulb in, the base (metal clips) moved and touched the body of the car, leading to a direct short to ground.

LED bulbs pull less power than an equivolent incandescent bulb. As for the "frequency" that you are talking about, not sure what you are getting at here. LED bulbs are strictly DC bulbs. They don't have a "frequency" to them unless you are talking about the temperature rating, then that is only telling you the color that the LED will emit.