X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member about to purchase 2004 3.0 x-type...need advice please

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2013, 04:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member about to purchase 2004 3.0 x-type...need advice please

Hello all...new member here, and hope to be for a long time.
I am about to purchase a 2004 3.0 X-Type w/sports package with 96,000 miles.
Anything I should be aware of at this mileage, and anything I should do right away to ensure peace of mind? I am new to the world of Jaguar, and need to learn a lot. Hopefully you all can help.
Also...are these cars hard to work on yourself? I am pretty mechanical, and have always done my own work on my cars...but they were all Jeeps...a whole different beast.
Thanks a lot for the help....I truly appreciate it.

Old 07-24-2013, 05:09 PM
Received 119 Likes on 101 Posts

Welcome to the board. If unfamiliar with the car I'd probably recommend paying your mechanic to give it a once over paying particular attention to the tranny/ transfer case. Once you get it look into replacing the transfer case fluid and tranny fluid immediately. Aside from that pretty much the same as anything else on the road. You're getting ready for the 100k service so you'll be doing the plugs right away to get your feet wet. Rear control arm bushing go and cause excessive neg camber around those miles so you're probably looking at 200 in part for that, good time to do sway bar links and bushes as well.

The following users liked this post:
Brewcity1 (07-24-2013)
Old 07-24-2013, 06:54 PM
Veteran Member
Received 172 Likes on 147 Posts