Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil in intake

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2012, 09:13 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Oil in intake

Newbie here,

I removed the upper intake to change the spark plugs. The 04 X-type 2.5 has 85K on it. The car has been running OK with no codes but a bit lacking in power.

I found what I believe to be a lot of oil in the upper intake manifold. From what I can tell by previous post this is not completely unusual . I have purchase new plugs and upper intake gaskets.

Should I purchase a new PCV valve and hose? Are these dealer only items? The big box parts stores do not have a listing for them.

Also I will need to replace the IMT O rings (x2) since I will need to remove these to clean the upper intake. Does anyone have aftermarket parts number or location for these other than the dealers?

Any other suggestion greatly appreciated before I re-assemble.

james.

Old 06-13-2012, 07:46 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,910 Likes on 3,212 Posts

james, first off, welcome to the forums my fellow Buckeye. As you will find out, there is a lot of information to be had here. So, sit back, grab a cup of Joe and enjoy. We also ask that you put up a post in the "New Member" section. There you will find out who the movers and shakers are here.

As for your "problem". Yes, finding oil in the intake is not uncommon. It is sounding like your PCV valve is starting to fail. Not a big deal. You can get a new one through some online dealerships (see Nalley Jag, they are an advertiser here, just make sure to let them know you are a member here, or I use Jaguarparts.com, which is a dealership out of Cleveland). You can also look at Jagbits.com and Britishcarparts.com (talk to Ken, he is a member here).

Keep in mind that you can get some parts from the same year Lincoln LS 3.0L motor and they will transfer right over. Both vehicles use essentially the same motor, therefore the parts work.