X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

parking sensors

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 06:35 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile parking sensors

Hello. My name is Pete. I'm new to the jaguar forum so please forgive me if I don't quite format the questions as you trusty die hards do :-)
I have just bought a 2002 x type and the parking sensors dont work. I have been told that people disconnect them because they get annoying.
Any ideas what i should check to see if they have been disconnected ?
Regards Pete

Old 07-09-2013, 12:11 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,915 Likes on 3,217 Posts

Pete, first off, welcome to the forums. We pride ourselves in being a different group of people and in general being a place that you want to come. So, sit back, grab yourself a cup of joe and enjoy. There's tons of information here for you to wrap your head around. All we ask in return is where you can help out a fellow member, you do. That is what makes this forum what it is.

As for your issue, I am assuming that when you put the car in REVERSE, you do not get any beeping from the rear of the car (ie, the parking aide system is sensing a fault which will give a solid tone any time the car is in REVERSE). If this is the case, I would first start with verifying that your backup lights come on when the car is put in reverse. The parking aide system gets its signal to activate on the voltage being applied to the backup lights (therefore, if they are not getting power, the system doesn't know the car is in REVERSE). If the reverse lights are not working, then I would check fuses F79 and F94 if you have an automatic tranny or fuse F82 if you have a manual tranny. Any of these fuses being blown will take out the whole system. Beyond this, if you are still having issues, let me know and I will give you further instructions from there. Please include whether you have a manual or auto tranny as this will help me narrow down what I have to discuss.