X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Performance upgrade questions.

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2012, 06:28 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Performance upgrade questions.

I was posting an issue about my front lamp housing when I saw this ad on the top of the forum
JAGUAR X-TYPE GF Peformance Chip

I have a '03 2.5L Sport with 62k miles on it.
Has anyone used this particular chip? Does it work? Is it safe for the car?

I'd also like to get this exhaust upgrade as well.

Jaguar X-Type Performance Exhaust for Jaguar X-Type

Does anyone have these? I'm new to this so I'm asking for your expert advice.

In total, it would bring the car up to about 280hp

Let me know what you guys think.

~Kory

Old 05-21-2012, 06:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 172 Likes on 147 Posts

So the biggest problem about "waking the car up" is that the 3.0 has practically maxed out the usable torque limit on the transfer case. By buying the x type you have sorta been condemned to running everything stock. I have looked many times at making my car faster, but the transfer case is really only rated at about 250 ft lbs before it blows up, so if you mess with the engine, expect to change out the transfer case.

Also, the most you will see with exhaust is 15 hp at best and I wouldn't buy the chip because it sorta sounds like a scam. Chips work on turboed cars very well because they come from the factory running with the best fuel efficiency, so you can mess with the turbo maps and boost and such to get more power. Jaguar has already tuned to car to get a LOT of horsepower and low end torque out of such a small displacement engine, so I wouldn't expect groundbreaking gains, if any, from a "chip."

actually, i googled the company and found a review: