Sponsored by:

Planning to buy a used Jag X-TYPE 3.0 2004

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2011, 10:33 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Planning to buy a used Jag X-TYPE 3.0 2004

Hi,

Hi,
I am new to Jaguar. I have the opportunity to buy the a used 2004 Jaguar 3.0 X-TYPE AWD. I fell in love with the car after the first drive. Here’s what I know about the car.

1) Dealer maintained since day 1.
2) Fully loaded
2) No Rust
3) 85,000 KM
4) Pulls a little to the right (perhaps an alignment can fix this)
5) Motor oil leak. **** this might be scary

I had the local garage inspect the vehicle. All is well with the exception of the oil leak. He can't really pin point where the leak. What he did tell me is the problem seems to be above the oil pan.

I heard rumors that to fix certain oil leak can be very pricy. Seeing that the leak is minimal, I can live with it. Is there anything that I can put in the oil to help seal the leak that would not harm the engine.

Also the asking price for the vehicle is $7500. That's another reason that I attracted me to the car. In my opinion, that is cheap for this type of car.

I would like your comments

Thanks for reading

Old 05-27-2011, 10:39 AM
pab
Veteran Member
Received 242 Likes on 209 Posts

Ummm, I'd be leery to buy any Jaguar with a recognized mechanical issue.

But that just might be me...
================================================== ===================
Jaguar - not an automobile, it's a Motorcar

Old 05-27-2011, 10:43 AM
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts

I think most folks on this forum would advise against buying without, at the very least, finding out what the deal is with regard to the leak. Yes, potentially very expensive. Please do some due diligence. If it were me, I'd just walk. There's another car out there with your name on it.

Old 05-27-2011, 12:05 PM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

average price. low mileage...but leaking oil.