Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Smoke coming from front left wheel

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2023 | 03:06 PM
|
Default Smoke coming from front left wheel

Hi,

I am very new in the US, and bought a used Jaguar X-type 2005 a couple weeks ago. It has ~122,000 miles on it. I took it to a mechanic after buying because the 'brake fluid low' warning was on, and the person I bought the car from had got the brake fluid topped up just a week earlier. The mechanic told me it seemed like a leaky rusted pipe in the rear that needed to be fixed. After getting that fixed (for $150) the brakes still seemed to go to the floor. And the mechanic said that the master cylinder also needed replacement (another ~$350). After that the car seemed to run fine, the brakes seemed responsive. I took it for a short drive the next day and in less than 20 minutes I started feeling something wrong with braking, it felt hard to push, although it did brake thankfully. Accelerator started feeling unresponsive at times. The speed of the car would suddenly drop from 45 to 30 mph, and it would be hard to pick up even though I was pressing hard at the accelerator. 'DSC system status' came on. I even smelled something burning, but didn't realise until I got home that there was smoke/burning smell coming out from front left wheel (I think from brake pads).
I have an appointment with the same mechanic tomorrow. But could someone give me an idea of what's going on? Or how can I make sure the mechanic knows what he is doing.

I already feel I made a mistake buying this car.

Thanks!

Old 10-01-2023 | 03:27 PM
Veteran member