Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sound treament build: Cabin doors

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2020, 10:09 AM
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Sound treament build: Cabin doors

Hi all,

When I first got this car I couldn't believe how noisy it was inside, never mind hot in the summer - not what I expected from a Jaguar at all. Aside from the suspension upgrades, fixing this was my top priority.

I stared this project some time ago and I just finished it. Time to complete 4 doors - start to finish - was about 20 hours (trial and errors included. I'm not a pro and so I'm slow). Estimated cost for a professional installation was around 800 or more labor (f*** that). Material costs were approx. 350.

I previously mentioned my headliner build using Kolossus Knu Knoise (100m) and 3M's Thinsulate (600SL) as sound dampening and sound reduction/thermal treatments.

Here is my door card build using the same materials. Like most car doors, our doors take some work to prep (remove the original foam) and then apply the new improved materials. I started with the outer door skins first, and used Kolossus and some good closed cell foam. After that I did the following:

Door prep

Sound dampening and seal.

Sound dampening and seal.

3M Thinsulate 600SL

Thinsulate placement. Avoid the high spots or the doors won't go back on! I used Velcro on the pieces I through I might want to remove later. Used 3M 77 to glue most places.

The results are what you'd expect: Significant reduction in total cabin noise and a far cooler cabin - in Los Angeles, this is a must. I also travel to Phoenix in the summer, so... there's that.

Happy to help anyone interested.

Thank you forum for your help over the years!

Chris

The following users liked this post:
max224 (08-03-2020)
Old 08-04-2020, 08:44 AM
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts