X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Starter solenoid Clicks no start

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2014, 05:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starter solenoid Clicks no start

Have a 2003 X type owned since new with no real problems till now. Starter only clicks when ignition is turned on. Has a nearly new battery, cables check out. Swapped out the starter relay and changed the starter still same problem. I am a pretty good mechanic and well equipped to work on anything pre smog and computers, my hobby is restoring vintage Ford trucks, wife's car.
Came on suddenly drove the car on day and wouldn't start the next. Any thoughts.
Thanks Robert

Old 11-05-2014, 10:23 PM
Location: That Rectangular Hole in the Consciousness of America
Received 132 Likes on 91 Posts

Turn the headlights on and try to start. If they dim out, you've still a bad ground or the like to chase down.

Might even be the new battery.

The headlight test is a definitive test.

Old 11-05-2014, 10:25 PM
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by robertcontr
Have a 2003 X type owned since new with no real problems till now. Starter only clicks when ignition is turned on. Has a nearly new battery, cables check out. Swapped out the starter relay and changed the starter still same problem. I am a pretty good mechanic and well equipped to work on anything pre smog and computers, my hobby is restoring vintage Ford trucks, wife's car.
Came on suddenly drove the car on day and wouldn't start the next. Any thoughts.
Thanks Robert
This happened to me when the car was parked for extending periods of time and the battery drained. You may want to check your battery and alternator…potentially a bad battery or the alternator isn't charging it.

My car would have the interior lights on, the radio would work, but it wouldn't even try to turn over, just the clicks.

Trickle charge the car overnight and if it starts in the AM, you have a battery/alternator problem.

Good luck!