X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Swap Questions, Sport, DSC, Rear diff

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2015, 12:47 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Swap Questions, Sport, DSC, Rear diff

Greetings, i recently aquired a 3.0 automatic 2002 x-type. got it dirt cheap because it was broken, it now runs, and i found a cheap part car. 2002 2.5 manual sport.

Before anyone says it might be too much for me, i'm a professional mechanic, so i do know my **** about cars, and i'm especially good at electricity/electronics. its true that i'll most likely do this at home and it might make it hard by the lack of tools, but i know what i'm getting into.

I'm considering a manual swap, swapping the sport package too, stability control, that i am missing (if its on the part car, not sure yet) and even looking to find an LSD rear differential, if i can find any to fit...

I must admit i do have issue finding informations about our cars... i used to be into mustangs and crown victoria mods, the information for those vehicle is ridiculously abundant! i cant say the same for the x-type. so right now i'm left with a few questions.

2.5 manual trans on a 3.0, does it fit?
I've read the 3.0 and 2.5 are ridiculously similar, so i guess there are good chances its the same bolt pattern right? and then, no reasons not to fit? i saw someone saying the 2.5 and 3.0 trans fit, but have different gear ratio, but i cannot find anything to confirm what he said.

Beside the bolt pattern, trans swap doesnt scare me much though, considering i'll have a whole car, at worse i'll have to buy a 3.0 manual ECU, since the manual car is a 2.5. (i heard i could put the 2.5 ECU though, and the engine would just lose power, might be a decent temporary option)

Now, sport package. what does it include??