X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ultra weird fuel pressure readings and CRANK/NO START

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2021, 12:38 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Ultra weird fuel pressure readings and CRANK/NO START

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting/asking for help in the Jaguar Forums.

I have a 2003 Jaguar X-Type with a 2.5L engine.

A friend of mine needed a tune-up done on it. I should've thought twice about taking the job on as it had multiple problems other than a slightly rough running engine.

Regardless, he drove the car to my home, parked in the drive way and left me to do my work.

My mission was to replace the 6 spark plugs, coil boots, intake plenum gaskets, fuel filter and air filter.

After replacing everything, I attempted to start t he vehicle but it would not start. After checking for any obvious mistakes that I may have made (none found), I hooked up a fuel pressure tester.
This is where I'm totally befuddled as I've NEVER EVER seen anything like this before... When I turn the key on, the reading jumps to about 15psi and stops. When I turn it on a second time, 25psi. A third time, 30psi. After about 6 key on/key off sequences, I finally arrive at approximately 44psi. It holds there with a super mild bleed off over time. (see attached video please)

Again, when cranking the car AFTER getting to this 44psi, the engine will crank but will not start.

Also, I discovered that there was only a fraction of a millimeter of oil on the dipstick. I added some more but it is not within the add/full marks (I am going to do an oil change and not looking to waste oil).
My question is whether the low oil condition could cause it not to start. It appears this engine has Variable Valve Timing solenoids on it, so maybe the lack of clean oil getting to these might be causing a problem as well. I'm looking for thoughts on this condition as well.