Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

whining/humming noise, new thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2007, 06:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default whining/humming noise, new thread

Hi there,
I know there're several other threads, but they got so long and have so many different issues in them that
I couldn't follow very well.

Here's why I'm starting this one:
1. Car: 2003 2.5L manual with 40k miles.

2. Speed: 45-75 mph or 75-45 mph at 3rd through 5th gears.

3. Noise: A whine; rhytmic, cyclical in sound. Changes pitch as car accelerates/decelerates, as if something is trying to catch up with engine rpm vs the wheels.

4. Conditions: Does not make a difference if it is very cold, cold, or warm. I did not have a chance yet to drive in summer heat.

5. I do not do "heel-and-toe," downshifts normally, but did try it to see if it changes anything. I'm not very good at this because it's not my normal practice, but there was some improvement. I cannot think of doing it every single time when decelerating, however.

6. I've read a lot of threads on a number of forums. Some people talk about similar symptoms, but there seems to be a lot of confusion everywhere. Some claim Jaguar knows it, that dealers used to change driveshafts and differentials with no or little success, and now they've stopped throwing new parts at the problem. Others say other things.

7. To get to the bottom of it: is this something to worry about mechanically, as in creating further and serious problems that will need to be tackled in the future, or is it merely annoying as hell but essentially harmless?

Many thanks for your opinions!

Old 03-03-2007, 06:10 PM
Veteran Member
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: whining/humming noise, new thread

To me, it sounds like maybe your throw-out bearing has gone.....(without being there hearing it...very difficult to diagnose via the internet)
or
It could be your tires just making road noise...(a commaon problem on AWD cars)