XE ( X760 ) 2015 -

Battery Charging

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2021, 07:54 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Battery Charging

Hi Guys My name is John and I am from the Central Coast of NSW Australia, I have an XE 20t 2017 which due to illness I have not been using much is there any way that I can charge the battery without disconnecting everything ?

Old 01-07-2021, 09:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 483 Likes on 370 Posts

I have no experience with this particular car so the best advice I could give is a general knowledge of charging batteries and my first place to go for information is the owners manual. Many times it will talk about how to jumpstart a car and that should tell you about the dangers of hooking up an external power source your vehicle (if there is one)

Old 01-07-2021, 09:21 PM

Thanks but the manual is of no help at all !

Old 01-07-2021, 09:53 PM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

Hey Aussiejohn, sorry for your illness and I hope you have a smooth recovery. I suspect that your manual will say something like you need to remove the battery for charging. IMO this would be unnecessary. Here in the upper Midwest USA, cars are routinely put in storage for 3 to 5 months over the Winter. No one I know removes the battery--it is not wrong, just extra work. However, there are several basic safety precautions and processes that you should follow when setting a car up for long term storage.
1) Purchase a "smart charger/maintainer". This is the kind that maintains your battery voltage but also senses the voltage and adjusts its charge output to avoid boiling the electrolyte or over charging the battery. Some owners plug the charger in for a day or two every couple weeks. IMO you can leave a smart charger plugged in until the car is ready to be retuned to use.