XE ( X760 ) 2015 -

Brake job is going very bad help please XE 20d

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2021, 11:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake job is going very bad help please XE 20d

so I was trying to do my brakes and this is my first time with electric parking brake and I took my left rear tire off and started to take the caliper off and it wouldn't come off etc ... and my buddy was like its almost as of the cars electric park brake is on ... so I turned the car on and pressed the button to turn the electric parking park off. The caliper came off completely easy then I turned the car OFF ... ... and the e brake pushed the piston out etc and we tried to twist it in like a old school vehicle lol .. brake fluid came out the piston .. then we unhooked the motor and took the caliper off completely.. do I need to do something with this electric parking brake before I install my new caliper?

Old 01-27-2021, 11:47 AM

Originally Posted by kyle101
so I was trying to do my brakes and this is my first time with electric parking brake and I took my left rear tire off and started to take the caliper off and it wouldn't come off etc ... and my buddy was like its almost as of the cars electric park brake is on ... so I turned the car on and pressed the button to turn the electric parking park off. The caliper came off completely easy then I turned the car OFF ... ... and the e brake pushed the piston out etc and we tried to twist it in like a old school vehicle lol .. brake fluid came out the piston .. then we unhooked the motor and took the caliper off completely.. do I need to do something with this electric parking brake before I install my new caliper?
The dash says i need to recalibrate the parking brake.. is there something I need to do before installing the new caliper I ordered ... help please

Old 01-27-2021, 11:51 AM

Originally Posted by kyle101