XF (X260) 2015 onwards

Transfer Case / Box is Locked

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2023, 10:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Transfer Case / Box is Locked

Looking for options regarding my Transfer Case which appears to be locked. I recently purchased a 2016 XF 35t Prestige with AWD. I noticed the wheels scuffing when backing out of parking spot. I also felt the drivetrain bind up during the tight turn. Red flag was going off in my head, but the car is so beautiful that I bought it anyway.
Normally cars will back up under engine idle, which the car will do for about 3 feet. However, I had to push the gas pedal to keep it moving and the wheels would start scuffing. Symptoms exist while moving forward as well as reverse.
I am new to being Jaguar owner. I'm sad that I cannot drive this beautiful car until this issue gets resolved because I fear the extra stress is going to damage the front drive axles or differential.
I've begun discussions with a Jaguar mechanic via chat. I've acquired a shop manual for this car and reviewed the "Transfer Case" section. Performing the diagnostic step 1 is to lift the car up while in park. Hold one front tire stationary while attempting to turn the other. My car fails that test. The diagnostic decision tree in shop manual says, "Replace Transfer Case because it is locked"
That sounds difficult and expensive. Is there anything else I could inspect or do to free the thing up?

FYI: There are zero DTC errors being reported for Transfer Case and Drive system. All wheel speed, steering angle, etc. indications appear normal. Thus, concluding the problem must be purely mechanical.

I am eager to learn from anyone which has had similar problem.

Old 12-12-2023, 09:12 PM