XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

2013 XFR Oil Change

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2017, 09:44 AM
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default 2013 XFR Oil Change

At the risk of sounding like a noob, I want to ask about changing the motor oil in my 2013 XFR. Some of the things I want to know are:
- Is there anything that needs to be done beyond the standard drain the oil and change the filter?
- Does anyone know what the oil capacity of the XFR is? I know I can measure what comes out of the engine, but I'm hoping someone can tell me so I know how much to go buy
- Is the filter reasonably accessible? I only have access to a floor jack and jack stands, and basic tools. So I guess the question is, is this a job that I can do simply in my driveway?
- What kind of oil/filter would anyone who has done this before recommend?

If anyone knows of a "how-to" thread for this please let me know, I'm new to the site and tried searching but I'm still learning my way around and may have missed it.

Thanks very much!

Old 09-13-2017, 10:16 AM
Received 126 Likes on 116 Posts

There is a oil drain plug on the pan but to get to it, you have to remove all the under-car trays and that takes a lot of time. The factory sucks the oil out from the top from the oil fill. There is a tube that you connect an extraction pump to.

The filter is also on top of the engine. Under a cap.

I think the engine oil capacity is 8quarts. You need to verify that though.

There is no dipstick, you have to monitor what you take out and refill accordingly. The dash has a level indictator. See your owners manual on how to use it.

Old 09-13-2017, 12:56 PM

Originally Posted by 10 XF Premium
There is a oil drain plug on the pan but to get to it, you have to remove all the under-car trays and that takes a lot of time. The factory sucks the oil out from the top from the oil fill. There is a tube that you connect an extraction pump to.

The filter is also on top of the engine. Under a cap.