XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Battery Disconnect Procedure

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2024, 11:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery Disconnect Procedure

Hello,

I’m trying to disconnect my battery from my 2013 Jaguar XF so I can work on my car and was a little confused when I opened the trunk and saw it… I checked the owners manual(which basically said take it to a professional) and even the technician manual too. The technician manual provides these instructions for the disconnect:

Pardon my ignorance, i’m not that good with cars and this battery is very different than what i’ve seen before. There were multiple things clamped on top of the terminal and the videos I used as reference(XE and Land Rover batteries) were far too different to use as a guide. I am just trying to disconnect the negative terminal so I can work on it but I am reading elsewhere (especially on this forum) about how not following a certain procedure can ruin some of the components and even fuse boxes? Read something crazy like having to open the trunk, wait, keep the fob away, and all doors closed?! Does anyone know where to find the proper procedure or should I just cough up the money and forget the DIY route(end goal is to replace three injectors which i’ve been studying for a couple weeks. Was feeling okay about it after hours of reading and watching, then got discouraged by the horror stories of people having to pay thousands because of commenting a battery!)

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-11-2024, 02:24 AM
Received 96 Likes on 86 Posts

There is a TSB about this but you don't really want to take this route as it will cost a fortune.
Taking it to a garage might not help you, as most people just expect to be able to disconnect a battery without causing problems, unless they have come across this issue in the past.