XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Bay Area / San Francisco - exhaust advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2013, 09:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bay Area / San Francisco - exhaust advice

Hello, XF owners and enthusiasts,

I'm a newbie, just got my 2009 4.2 Supercharged a couple of months ago, and I can't wipe the grin off my face. I'm thinking about installing a custom exhaust. I figured I want to only replace mufflers, because my car is still under warranty and even though I wouldn't mind some HP increase, my primary goal is to give the cat a little bit more growl.

I've got a couple of questions I was hoping you guys could help me with, especially if you live in Bay Area/San Francisco:

1) Brand/sound: I would absolutely love to meet someone local to hear your after-market/custom exhaust. It's kinda scary to order one without hearing it first in real life. I promise to bring your favorite beer. Or maybe there are some local gatherings I could attend?

2) Is there anything else other than Mina (Jaguar XF Performance Exhaust) and Quicksilver (Jaguar XF SV8 4.2 - Sport Exhaust (2008-09) - QuickSilver Exhaust Systems). Mina's considerably less expensive - is it that much worse? Anything else I should consider?

3) It would seem based on the pictures that the installation should be relative quick and easy - is that so? How much should it cost? My dealer said they don't do this stuff, any shops you can recommend or should I just do it myself?

4) Is there anything I could do with the original mufflers other than throw them away (seems like a waste)? Any luck trying to sell them?

5) Seems like some just tinker with the pipes (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...e-growl-59504/) instead of buying an expensive aftermarket system. Can you achieve similar results without replacing the whole thing? Are there local exhaust shops that would take it on?