XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Bricked 2015 XF 2.0l Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2024, 05:14 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Bricked 2015 XF 2.0l Turbo

So this story starts with a recently divorced single mother moving into the empty house for sale next door to mine. I live in a fairly small town about 40 miles south of DFW in the great state of Texas. I’m a millwright by trade and my current work schedule grants me two weeks on and two weeks off rotating between days and nights every six months. Somehow I have managed to become the guy in the neighborhood everyone calls when something brakes. I’ve fixed everything from appliances to zero turn mowers. I’ve done brake jobs and fuel pumps and a/c jobs and quite literally everything in between. Most of the work I do I would consider a form of charity as I rarely get paid and when I do it’s a fraction of what my time is worth.

Long story longer… so Beth moved in next door around the first of the year with her 13 yr old son. She is a really nice lady and very easy on the eyes.

Beth ended up paying cash for a 2015 Jaguar XF 2.0l Turbo with about 95,000 miles on it back in April. She traded in a 2001 Toyota Camry with 400k miles on it and paid $6000 cash all in. Seemed like a fair enough deal to me though it would not have been one I would have ever made. Not my circus not my monkeys… or so I thought.

after driving the car for a couple of months she got a check engine light and asked me to look at it. I politely declined and gave the excuse that I don’t have a code reader that was compatible with her car. She ended up at the local parts dealer who read the code and told her she needed an oil pressure switch. Sold her an oem part for $60 and sent her out the door.