XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Nearside main beam Xenon not working

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2023, 10:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Nearside main beam Xenon not working

I have a 2012 XF-S with Xenon headlamps. I am not a techie so please be gentle.
Am I correct in saying the Xenons change from dipped to main beam by the movement of a reflector, as there is only one bulb in the light?
A few nights ago I put my lights onto main beam and they stayed on dipped. Neither worked on main beam. I got home, switched off the car and a few minutes later restarted it to find the offside main beam worked correctly but no nearside mean beam working.
When changing from dipped to main you can hear a noise in the offside headlamp but not the nearside , which leads me to think there is movement in the light to change beams.
Why would I lose both main beams then get the offside one back?
Any advise please?

Old 09-10-2023, 10:13 AM
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

Yes, ( well almost, it's a shutter that moves in the projection system )
Perhaps if the car can detect the fault, it will prevent use of main beam to keep the lighting symmetrical.
Maybe now the CJB can't detect the fault.
If you haven't already then I'd suggest you check the CJB for water ingress, lots of threads on that so have a search. ( Screenwash from the washer pump can leak through the harness to the CJB, and arrives on the same connector used for the shutter for the the right hand light. )

Old 09-10-2023, 11:06 AM

[The light not working is the left, ie nearside. Is this affected by washer pump? And what is a CJB? Thanks for the reply. QUOTE=sportbrake_phil;2677579]Yes, ( well almost, it's a shutter that moves in the projection system )
Perhaps if the car can detect the fault, it will prevent use of main beam to keep the lighting symmetrical.