XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Newbie Here

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2016, 02:18 PM
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Newbie Here

Recently purchased a 2012 XF Portfolio with 6K miles (that's correct 6,000) for my wife. So far we love the car, and I look forward to member's insight. The wife says "Gee it sounds so quiet", and I told her that I can fix that - hehehe. I've seen the posts here on the Mina exhaust as well as removing resonators and installing a cross pipe. Any thoughts on pros and cons of each? I would also like to eventually unleash this beast. Any recommendations as to the best ECU tunes?
Anyway, I'm looking forward to reading your posts and learning a lot.

Old 02-06-2016, 03:55 PM
Received 79 Likes on 56 Posts

That's an NA, right? No supercharger?
If so, I've heard the tunes don't really give you much bang for buck, but others can chime in. likewise, when I removed my resonators, it gave me a lot more supercharger whine, but I didn't notice much of a difference in engine noise.

Exhaust seems to be something most guys agree on, although there's a bit of debate on what makes the tone you're looking for. This has been pretty thoroughly debated on a number of threads, but I kinda like this one for reference.

The following users liked this post:
kwiksilver (02-06-2016)
Old 02-06-2016, 04:17 PM

Originally Posted by n8ertot
That's an NA, right? No supercharger?
If so, I've heard the tunes don't really give you much bang for buck, but others can chime in. likewise, when I removed my resonators, it gave me a lot more supercharger whine, but I didn't notice much of a difference in engine noise.

Exhaust seems to be something most guys agree on, although there's a bit of debate on what makes the tone you're looking for. This has been pretty thoroughly debated on a number of threads, but I kinda like this one for reference.