XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Thinking about designing an intake for the Supercharged XF

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2015, 08:13 AM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Thinking about designing an intake for the Supercharged XF

Hey forum, I've had my XF supercharged for a while now and have decided to start upgrading. I'm in a debate with myself about designing a actual intake for the car with open element filters at either end to allow for a significant difference in the restriction of the system. I plan on going with a full intake replacing the inlet tubes and air boxes.

A little background on myself, I am a mechanical engineer in the aftermarket auto industry. I previously worked at a company called R2C that specialized in filters and intakes with myself focusing on street performance intakes. Now I'm at a place called AMS (acronyms everywhere) which I have a much more broad spectrum of parts that I engineer.

Now back to our cars. I am not yet too familiar with the Jaguar lineup to know exactly what models share the same intake tubes and air boxes as my 2010 XF Supercharged. What I would like from the forum is if anyone here would also be interested in an intake for their car and if anyone can verify what other models and years use the same intake tube and air boxes as the 2010 XF supercharged. I will most likely try to develop this intake for my own car for personal use, but if others are also interested in getting one I will entertain going into a small production run after I test it on my car so that others can get one as well.

I attached an image of the engine bay from my car if anyone could reference that it is the same as their model.

Any feedback or concerns from the forum will be appreciated. Hopefully I will be able to begin soon and will update this thread anytime if I have any new information or progress in the future.

Attached Thumbnails Thinking about designing an intake for the Supercharged XF-xf-sc-engine.jpg  
Old 07-10-2015, 08:58 AM