XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Warranty Discussion (split from filter wrench thread)

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2015, 08:33 AM
Veteran Member
Received 283 Likes on 261 Posts
Default Warranty Discussion (split from filter wrench thread)

Originally Posted by Mikey
Onus is on you to substantiate the claim that oil changes must be performed by the dealer to retain the car's warranty.
That's the law everywhere in Canada, even in Quebec I believe but I am no expert there. It is simple contract law. In the U.S. common law and the statutory rules applicable to sake of goods have been modified but not here.

Even in the U.S. I'd be surprised if a manufacturer could not deny warranty where an unskilled owner performed his own oil changes. How could you prove you'd done them correctly?

Old 07-19-2015, 08:55 AM
Received 2,266 Likes on 1,845 Posts

Originally Posted by jagular
That's the law everywhere in Canada, even in Quebec
Which law, please quote and give reference.

There is nothing in the Jaguar warranty that makes any mention, nor in any other OEM's warranty I have access to.

Old 07-19-2015, 09:15 AM
Veteran Member

Which law, please quote and give reference.

There is nothing in the Jaguar warranty that makes any mention, nor in any other OEM's warranty I have access to.
The common law of contract. I think you may need to read the warranty more carefully. I have not read one completely. I would be very surprised to find you to be correct on this point as it would represent a major error in legal drafting.