XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Xf 2.2 propshaft carrier bearing replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2023, 06:19 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Xf 2.2 propshaft carrier bearing replacement

Hi there, my name's Craig and I'm a newbie here. Apologys for the rant and asking a question on my first post. But, I'm a recent victim to an xf... I say victim as I bought what I thought was a beautiful clean low mileage car ..

​​​​​Less than 4 months into ownership, I need 4 new brake discs, pads all round, due to scorched and warped discs.
Before someone posts to say there's no such thing, please don't.
I've had 3 seized calipers, this heated the discs one at a time randomly during my 80mile each way daily motor way drive. This followed by my transmission becoming sloppy as hell and developing harsh shifting along with a vibration which cost me a trans repair and service.
Next came the Fuel transfer pump in the tank has died, new tank as the transfer pump isn't available on its own.
then the drivers door lock jammed,
And to put the final nail in the coffin, ​​​​today the drive shaft carrier bearing has decided to give up and start whining, then suddenly starts vibrating like hell. The bearing has locked and torn the rubber of the bush. As you've probably guessed I'm having a very bad day.

My reason for posting here is I'm trying to find out if an s type prop shaft bearing will fit the shaft of the 2.2? I have googled and searched and there seem to be a few conflicting answers, all of which are buried at the bottom of piles of x type shaft stories.

Sorry for the rant, but now I'll say thanks for any help guys could give me. I really appreciate it and hope to God after all these bits are fixed it's the end to the troubles. Else I may have to resort to a brick wall and as fast as the car will go...

​​​​

Old 04-10-2023, 05:27 PM
Default Conclusive positive solution