XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

2013 XJ X351 3.0 SC Head Gasket Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2020, 01:19 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question 2013 XJ X351 3.0 SC Head Gasket Replacement

Hello Jaguar folks. I am new to this forum and here is my story.
I have a 2013 XJ with V6 s/c with 84,000 miles here in Southern California. I bought this car as-is on auction and found there is a problem with overheating. I put a new water pump, take off the thermostat but it doesn't help at all. Then I found that there is a combustion gases in the coolant system. Jag slowly gets up to 95 degrees Celsius in about 30-40 minutes and then gets up to 120 C in the next couple minute. Coolant starts boil and I shut off the car. So it looks that I need to put new head gaskets and this should resolve all the problems.

Did someone here do this job before? I was trying to find any information but haven't find anything similar. I am a mechanic, but never worked with 3.0 Jags before.
What type of special tools do I need to have to complete this job?
Any information would be helpful.
I will keep you guys updated. Firstly, I need to order special tools and figure out how to put marks on timing chain.
Thank you!

Last edited by loompy; 01-25-2020 at 10:45 AM.
Old 01-25-2020, 10:35 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,351 Likes on 1,851 Posts

I would test for combustion gases in the coolant before I did any head work.
Find out what your problem is first.
There was a reason it was sent to auction.

Old 01-25-2020, 10:46 AM

Originally Posted by clubairth1
I would test for combustion gases in the coolant before I did any head work.
Find out what your problem is first.
There was a reason it was sent to auction.
That's right. There are combustion gases in the coolant. Tested with a special tester and there are bubbles in the coolant reservoir.

Old 01-25-2020, 10:50 AM
Veteran Member

OK just did not you to change stuff unless it's needed. Now you have a bigger decision to make?