XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

Considering buying a 2011 xjl, advice needed.

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2019, 08:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering buying a 2011 xjl, advice needed.

. Hello everyone,
I am new to the Jaguar world coming from other German and Highline vehicles. I have an opportunity to buy 2011 xjl one owner no accidents very clean with 57000 miles on it.
I've been combing through the forms the last few days trying to find any red flags that I need to look for. I am purchasing this from a Mercedes dealership that received it in on trade. The car is just below 20K in asking price.

Is there anything I should look for? I did not hear the roof popping and I've driven it a few times. Previous owner just put new tires and new brakes on the vehicle.

Thanks for the help.

Old 08-30-2019, 11:07 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,887 Likes on 3,194 Posts

water pump will be the big thing to look at. If you open the hood and look at the front lip of the engine cover, just under the lip, you should see a 1/4" hose coming down. In that hose, you should see a piece of plastic in it that forms a Y. If there something on the end of that Y or is it empty? If there is something on it, then you have the original water pump and that is a ticking time bomb. If there is nothing attached, then the water pump has been replaced atleast once. Most other issues are hit and miss as to whether your car will suffer from it or not.

Old 08-31-2019, 12:28 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have a 2011 S/C and love the car but here are a few things I'd be watching for. 1st I'd without question have a jaguar dealer do a pre-purchase inspection. This is a no brainer and will save you big bucks in the long run. If there are issues, and there will be, at least you'll know what they are and can prioritize any repairs needed.