XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

DRL's and front lights.

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2023, 05:33 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default DRL's and front lights.

I have several questions. First, can I turn on the DRL's and maybe other functions like the oil change schedule on my 2011 XJL with an OBD tool and what type must it be? What is the purpose of each of the lights in the Headlight assembly. I cannot seem to get the small outboard lights or the rope lights to come on, Does anyone know why there is no front fog light function on the 2011 but it has rear fog lights? Thanks I am still learning about the car but really like it.

Old 02-09-2023, 12:24 PM
Received 572 Likes on 354 Posts

With a normal OBD no I don't think you can enable features, typically you need a tool such as SDD (Jaguar Tool) for this purpose. I think some of the higher end 'OBD' tools can do some things but these can lead to issues down the road since the cars build file gets out of synch - I had to replace a keyless module because somebody had been playing with keys and modules - the car knew the module was the wrong one for the car based on part number and refused to accept new keys or clear the old ones not in my posession ( I always clear keys that I don't have because I am so trusting of sellers - not ).

As for the lights themselves it depends on those installed but it sounds like you have adaptive - in which case the small outers will come on below a certain speed at a given steering angle - they're cornering lights, one of them is a marker light, there is then a headlight and the indicator. The main and high beam is done using an internal shutter.

The LED's under the light should come on in the first position after 'off' or when the ignition is on if DRL's are enabled. They remain on I believe in the second position - not sure about when in Auto - never actually looked.

Pretty certain the X351 never had a fog light option / extra.

Last edited by BenKenobi; 02-09-2023 at 12:30 PM.