XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

First time buying a Jaguar.

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2021, 07:07 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default First time buying a Jaguar.

Hey guys, I am new to Jaguars coming from owning a BMW 335xi Manual transmission. Anyways, I was looking at a 2017 Jaguar XJ R Sport.

I love the way the XJ R Sport looks And I told myself one day!I've attached all the features it comes with. I'm wondering what other features these cars come with. Is my model loaded? What questions should I ask the dealer?its going for 36k. has 42k miles.
I was also wondering what common issues will I run into.
It had 1 minor accident but it looks great and has no frame damage it went through a test with True360 and they showed photos and rated full repair 90/100. Either way. Car was a previously owned Lease car.
If anyone has ANY INFORMATION PLEASE LMK I WANT TO KNOW EVERY AND ANYTHING. I want to inform myself about Jaguars. I found the handbook listed on the website but I want to know the little secrets the stuff nobody knows.. everything. Thanks for all the help and info! I'm a very mechanically inclined I just can't find too much about these cars!

Old 09-24-2021, 03:52 AM
Received 171 Likes on 145 Posts

For what I've read on the XJ forum, the most common issue is the overheating problem caused by coolant leakage resulting to engine damage. I don't know if plastic pipes/tubes that is causing the issue has been replace by metal on the current models. Perhaps someone here can correct me on this one.
Here are some of the threads that relates to some issues as well.
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...t-leak-249572/
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...ispreloading=1

I hope your XJ comes with these features as seen on this Jaguar advertisement

Also, as a newbie on this forum (joined last April) one thing I noticed among members here, once they sold their old Jaguars, a great majority tend to buy another Jaguar.

My take. Good Luck