XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

New Jag Enthusiast

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2024, 07:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile New Jag Enthusiast

I recently got my first Jaguar an XJL (not supercharged) from an auction in Texas. I flew there with the intention of driving it back to the west coast and to start my affair with it in style. When I got there I started learning alot about it very quickly. It had been sitting at the Auction lot for quite a while and needed a jump. I found by watching some very good videos on exactly how to jump it properly and finally got it started. Then I found that it had multiple leaks which I spent the next couple of hours fixing thanks to a local shop which helped me alot. It was getting late so I needed to get one of the headlights replaced before night fall as well. So I got all these items squared away and the next morning I was off for the West Coast. The car got good gas mileage and handled fantastic. As I was driving across Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona the temperature averaged 102 degrees F. Thank God for the air conditioning and the cooling in the seat as well. I love these seats cause just when I seemed to get tired I could always turn on the massage and continue for a couple of hundred miles more. I finally got to California only to find out I had more issues to deal with. I couldn't pass SMOG test so I did some investigating on my own and came up with what I thought need to be done. Just to be certain and to try and develop a relationship with the local dealership I asked them to look at it and give me an estimate. Well the local dealer said that they came to the same conclusion as I did that the connector to the smog cannister needed to be replaced and that they could not get the connector without ordering a completely new wiring harnass which would have to come from the UK in about a month or so. They told me 12K for the harness and another 6-8 K for the labor, I thanked them and then I really got involved. I found the co