XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

Oil Viscosity Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2016, 05:05 PM
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Oil Viscosity Help

So I just got my car back from my independent mechanic. This is my first time taking it to him and he's been in business for many years, working on a lot of different foreign and domestic cars including Jags.

So he changed the oil and put in Dextrol 5w-30 full synthetic. The owners manual calls for the 5w-20 with that weird WSS spec. He said that the 5w-30 offers more durability and more wear protection and that the WSS spec is only in relation to below freezing operating temperatures, which are normally sustained for a fleeting moment with the way the 5.0 heats up.

So I'm feeling a little uncomfortable running a slightly thicker viscosity but he assures me that many of the Jags they service with the 5.0 have been running as high as 190,000 miles on the odo using the Dextrol 5w-30.

Does anyone know if this is ok to use? Or should I take it somewhere else and have them out in the Castrol 5w-20? I just would rather not go through some type of catastrophic engine failure.

Old 07-12-2016, 07:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 6,285 Likes on 3,449 Posts

How much experience does your indy have with the JLR 5.0L engines?

Oil is cheap compared to the cost of an engine. Will that non-OEM spec oil cause your engine to seize up tomorrow? Probably not. Nevertheless, if it was my car, I'd replace that oil ASAP with the proper oil.

SUBSEQUENTLY ADDED - See my post #8 in this thread: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...stions-165571/

Last edited by Stuart S; 07-12-2016 at 08:49 PM. Reason: Added link to oil thread
Old 07-12-2016, 08:00 PM