XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

Sat Nav Update - again

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2022, 06:59 PM
Received 593 Likes on 368 Posts
Default Sat Nav Update - again

I am new to the X351 - if I wanted to update the onboard satnav maps what are my options - there seem to be a few posts that ended badly (update failure - destroyed coding).

I don't depend on sat nav but the wife does and I'd like things to be as current as poss - car's a 2010 portfolio - yes really I don't care but the wife does.

I don't plan to spend hundreds here - just so the intent is clear (given that my Garmin portable has lifetime updates)

I'll also consider an upgrade path to the 2019 systems

Last edited by BenKenobi; 12-11-2022 at 07:15 PM. Reason: clarification of requirement
Old 12-12-2022, 11:23 AM
Received 237 Likes on 180 Posts

Hello,

I have 2010 Portfolio too.
Been updated XJ onboard navi 2-3 times and here are hints:
- Maps are made by Here, but the packgage have to be made for Jaguar, since the onboard IAM 2.1 (originally Ford system) software are locked / unlocked to the automotive grade harddisk by host ATA protection and an key code for update are generated by your vehicle VIN number. (there are a way to unlock the hard drive - needs somewhat more effort - Info by searcing Volvo forums)
- You can purchase "offical" map update: https://here.navigation.com/product/...B/HEREEMEA/EUR
or search eBay. (i used eBay)
- No matter where you bought, you will receive an USB stick, where are approx 22 GB data inside. (if yoou choose download and add the files yourself on the USB stick, use only high quality USB stick. (exsample Sandisk extreme) USB stick shall not have check inventory flag up. It have been stopped correctly before removed from computer, if added to the computer before added to the car.