XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

Smoke coming out under the hood some times

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2018, 01:45 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Smoke coming out under the hood some times

Just from Friday, my car is giving out smoke from under the hood some times. Likely after a quick acceleration, or after running 70+ miles for a while, but not sure when exactly the smoke starts and stops. Idling for 5 minutes, no smoke.

There is no warning on the dash. Oil temp is steady at the middle. Oil level is ok. But checking the coolant tank, the liquid level is half a inch below the min mark when car is cold.

I can smell something when seeing the smoke, but can't tell if it is the coolant since this is my first time seeing the problem.

Is that a sign of leaking coolant? And if yes, where likely the leak is?

If do a full flush of coolant, how much i need to purchase? Prestone AF888 is the correct one to buy?

Thanks.

Old 04-01-2018, 05:24 AM
GGG
Received 16,863 Likes on 12,186 Posts

If it was smoke - something burning - it would probably already have come to a very dramatic end.

Steam from leaking coolant is the most likely explanation. Check the level in the Expansion Tank to ensure there isn't a significant loss which could easily lead to overheating and engine damage.

A common cause on other Jaguar models is tiny amounts of coolant dripping onto a hot exhaust manifold or front pipe and immediately flashing off as steam. Notoriously difficult to find the source but pinholes or tiny splits in an Expansion Tank which only open up under heat and pressure are a known cause.

A Pressure Test Kit could help you identify the source of a leak.

The coolant specification is WSS M97B44 (colored orange) Extended Life Coolant. Many brands meet this specification and it will be on the container label. It is used at 50/50 mix with water and the total capacity will be in the technical specification of your Owner's Handbook.

Graham

Old 04-01-2018, 05:28 AM